Mission Trip – Peru

Posted: March 7, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Village

This May I will be embarking on my first ever mission trip. i have never been on one before and have always wanted to go on one. I am finally getting the opportunity to go. I am very excited about it, but also a little nervous. This trip has the potential to be very life changing; not only for me, but for the people we will be reaching.

This is something that I never thought would happen. I have always wanted to go, but never had the money to go on one. Plus no one ever pushed me towards going. But a very good friend of mine quit his job to become a full time missionary. He started with XMA (Extreme Mission Adventures) and began his work in the field. He began telling me all about the trips that he was taking and asking me if I ever thought about taking one. I told him that money was pretty much the only thing that was holding me back. He then explained to me that I could get sponsors to sponsor me. This would help with the funding for the trip. So the next step was to decide where I was going to go. After much prayer and talks with my wife I decided to go to Peru.

The place in Peru that we are going to go to is a region that has never been reached. Its semi close to Lima, Peru. We will be travelling to Lima via plane, then another plane will take us to a smaller town. From there we will be taking a 6 hour truck ride to a small village. After we arrive there we will then go on the craziest part of the trip. The last leg of the trip to get to the village we will be doing our mission work will be a 8-10 hour hike. We will then spend several days in the village getting to know the people and telling them about Jesus. Hopefully we will be able to friend the villagers and be able to discuss all the wonderful things God has done us. After the several days we will be in the village we will have to leave; possibly being very sad, because of all the new brothers and sisters in Christ we will be leaving. Then we will just reverse the travel that we had taken a few days previous. Although this time instead of being excited about getting to the village we will be excitedly talking about all the villagers and all the experinces we had.

Upon getting back we will be very glad to see our familys and share with them about all the stuff that happened. I am sure that all of our friends at our church will be very excited to hear of all that was done and built. Three weeks after return we have been asked to go to one of the churchs that sponsored me. We will have a wonderful time reliving our trip to them and then partaking in a wonderful meal. I hope to bring back a spear and picture of the villagers with us to give to them. I hope that they appreciate the gift as I am very appreciative of all the support that they have given me.

Please let me know about any mission trips you have been on. What kind of storys can you tell me about? What were your experiences like?

Comments
  1. […] Mission Trip – Peru (hobbytopia.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Mission Trip – Peru (hobbytopia.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

